FDA-cleared profile

syngo.CT Lung CAD (Version VD30)

Siemens Healthcare GmbH

Assist radiologists in detecting solid and subsolid pulmonary nodules during review of multivendor multi-detector CT examinations of the chest; the device is an adjunctive first- or second-reader tool.

Evidence status: each field states its source quality, applicability, and review date. Research pending, information not established, and vendor documentation pending remain distinct outcomes.

Clinical details

What this tool is for

Start with the authorized purpose, then verify how it fits your service line and reading workflow.

Exact purpose
Assist radiologists in detecting solid and subsolid pulmonary nodules during review of multivendor multi-detector CT examinations of the chest; the device is an adjunctive first- or second-reader tool.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09
Intended users
Radiologists and trained professionals who review thoracic CT examinations.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09
Care setting and population
Chest CT screening or diagnostic review workflow; the FDA packet does not specify a facility type.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09
Workflow role
Concurrent first-reader support followed by full radiologist review, or second-reader support after the initial read; solid-only mode filters suspected subsolid and fully calcified findings.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09
Required input
Multivendor multi-detector chest CT examinations; the FDA device description specifies solid nodules of 3.0-30.0 mm and subsolid nodules of 5.0-30.0 mm average diameter, with 16 or more detector rows recommended.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09
Output and human action
A list of nodule candidate locations sent to a visualization application or rendering component, which generates image series with CAD marks superimposed on thoracic CT images for radiologist review.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09
Limitations
The device is an adjunct and requires full radiologist review. The solid-only mode excludes potential subsolid and fully calcified findings. The FDA packet states that the algorithm has no user-interface component and that the hosting application is responsible for displaying CAD marks; the stated nodule sizes and 16-row recommendation bound the described device context.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09

Regulatory identity

FDA record and catalog context

The FDA listing establishes the regulatory identity. It does not by itself establish local workflow fit, pricing, security, or performance in your environment.

FDA submission
K231157
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31
Modality
CT/CTA
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09
Anatomy
Chest/Lung
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09
Clearance type
510(k)
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31
Decision date
2023-07-19
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31
FDA status
FDA-cleared
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31

Implementation

Questions for IT, informatics, and operations

Use these fields to structure a vendor demo, security review, and implementation estimate.

Integration
The FDA packet identifies a hosting visualization application such as syngo MM Oncology and the syngo.via framework as examples for displaying marks; it does not establish a universal PACS/RIS/EHR interface, current version compatibility, or local deployment configuration.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09
Deployment and data flow
On-premise
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-13

Deployment category preserved from the prior exact-submission review; hosting region, data flow, and current commercial configuration still require vendor confirmation.

Security and privacy
Vendor documentation pending
  • Vendor confirmation
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09

Exact-release security controls, data retention, hosting boundaries, and scoped assurance documentation require vendor confirmation.

Training and support
Vendor documentation pending
  • Vendor confirmation
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09

Current training prerequisites, competency checks, and support commitments for the exact configuration require vendor confirmation.

Monitoring and change control
Vendor documentation pending
  • Vendor confirmation
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09

Current drift, quality, uptime, alert, escalation, and incident-response commitments for the exact configuration require vendor confirmation.

Supported acquisition environment

Scanner manufacturers: All

exact submission · checked 2026-09-01

Confirm currently supported software versions, protocols, and site-specific acquisition configurations.

ACR exact-submission catalog context

ACR AI Central provides an exact-submission model card for syngo.CT Lung CAD (Version VD30); FDA labeling remains controlling for clinical use, limitations, and performance.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-09

Evidence

Performance evidence

Metrics are shown only when they are tied to a source, endpoint, population, and tested product version. Candidate literature without exact product and version linkage is not shown as product evidence.

Evidence summary
The standalone comparison used the same retrospectively collected 712 thoracic CT cases as the predicate evaluation: 232 UCLA cases, 145 original PMA cases, and 335 additional cases. There were 929 true nodules from 412 cases; across 3,560 lung lobes, 647 contained at least one true nodule and 2,913 contained none. Reference standards differed by source, using the UCLA reader study, 18-reader consensus for PMA cases, and 7-reader consensus for additional cases. The packet states that all primary and secondary endpoints were met but does not provide a single observed sensitivity, specificity, or AUC value in the reviewed text.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09
Reported sensitivity
Research pending
  • Needs research
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31

This field has not been curated yet.

Reported specificity
Research pending
  • Needs research
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31

This field has not been curated yet.

No contextualized exact-version metric has completed evidence review. Regulatory-document values, when available, are shown above with their limitations.

syngo.CT Lung CAD (Version VD30) regulatory performance study summary

  • DesignStand-Alone Performance
  • PopulationPopulation described in the exact-submission ACR model card
  • Scopeexact submission
  • Tested versionExact product version not reported; regulatory study summarized for FDA submission K231157
  • Samplen=712
  • IndependenceIndependence not established

K231157

ACR AI Central summarizes the regulatory study; consult the exact FDA materials before comparative use.

Costs and setup

Budget and ongoing governance

These are common procurement questions; unknown values remain visible until a source supports them.

Pricing and total cost
Vendor documentation pending
  • Vendor confirmation
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09

No public price or quote for the exact K231157 configuration was established in this review.

Reimbursement and coding
Not established in reviewed sources
  • Reviewed sources checked
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09

No exact-product payer policy, coding instruction, or payment determination was established; eligibility must be evaluated by payer, site of service, and use case.

Safety and lifecycle

Postmarket record

Recall and adverse-event records are shown only after product matching. Adverse-event reports do not establish incidence or causality.

Postmarket safety review
The exact-identifier FDA recall query returned no native recall record for K231157. This limited result does not establish absence of recalls or other safety information and does not cover later versions, family records, MAUDE reports, corrections, or field notices.
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09

Buyer worksheet

Open questions to take to the vendor

Open evaluation checklist

Research record

What has been checked

This audit distinguishes completed source review from fields that have not yet been researched.

Exact FDA record reviewedStatus
2026-09-09Last searched
22Fields reviewed
9Source classes checked
0Awaiting review PubMed leads
0Awaiting review trial leads
0Unreviewed FDA recall leads

Exact-submission ACR model-card fields were normalized under the current provenance rules; vendor and independent-study confirmation remain distinct. Exact FDA scope controls clinical claims. ACR provides bounded exact-submission catalog context. Candidate literature metadata remains a discovery queue until full-text identity, endpoint, population, and version review is completed. Automated exact-name discovery found 0 PubMed and 0 ClinicalTrials.gov candidate records. Candidates require human product and version matching; zero candidates is not evidence that no studies exist. Native FDA recall identifiers produced 0 postmarket candidate records; 0 have been reviewed (0 published, 0 rejected) and 0 remain unreviewed.

Candidate leads remain unpublished until a human confirms the exact product and tested version.

Source classes: fda ai list, fda decision summary, acr ai central product, fda device recall, literature index, trial registry, pubmed, clinical trials, openfda device recall

Sources & history

How this profile was documented

Open the ledger for source dates, scope, and research-record updates.

View source ledger and history

Source ledger

  1. FDA K231157: syngo.CT Lung CAD (Version VD30)

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Published 2023-07-19 - Accessed 2026-09-09

    Scope: identity, clinicalUse, modality, anatomy, workflow, evidence, implementation

  2. Artificial Intelligence-Enabled Medical Devices

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Accessed 2026-08-31

    Scope: regulatoryIdentity, modalityContext

  3. syngo.CT Lung CAD (Version VD30) model card (K231157)

    American College of Radiology - Published 2026-06-26 - Accessed 2026-09-01

    Scope: intendedUsers, output, limitations, evidenceSummary, anatomy, evidenceStudies, implementationCapabilities

  4. PubMed biomedical literature index

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - Accessed 2026-09-01

    Scope: evidenceDiscovery

  5. ClinicalTrials.gov study registry

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - Accessed 2026-09-01

    Scope: evidenceDiscovery, studyStatus

  6. openFDA Device Recall API

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Accessed 2026-09-02

    Scope: recallDiscovery, nativeSubmissionMatching

  7. openFDA exact recall query for K231157

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Accessed 2026-09-09

    Scope: postmarketSafety

Research history

  1. K231157 FDA decision

    Regulatory record

    510(k)

  2. Source-review record updated

    Research record

    fda record reviewed

Alternatives

Related tools to compare

FDA-cleared K221592

AVIEW Lung Nodule CAD

Coreline Soft Co.,Ltd.

AVIEW Lung Nodule CAD is a Computer-Aided Detection (CAD) software designed to assist radiologists in the detection of pulmonary nodules (with diameter 3-20 mm) during the review...

Modality
CT/CTA
Anatomy
Chest/Lung
Decision
2023-02-24