FDA-cleared profile

PVAD IQ Software

Ultrasight, Ltd.

PVAD IQ supports qualified-physician clinical decision support by identifying the aortic annulus and PVAD inlet, calculating their mean distance, and identifying clips acceptable for this measurement.

Evidence status: each field states its source quality, applicability, and review date. Research pending, information not established, and vendor documentation pending remain distinct outcomes.

Clinical details

What this tool is for

Start with the authorized purpose, then verify how it fits your service line and reading workflow.

Exact purpose
PVAD IQ supports qualified-physician clinical decision support by identifying the aortic annulus and PVAD inlet, calculating their mean distance, and identifying clips acceptable for this measurement.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-05
Intended users
Qualified physicians.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-05
Care setting and population
Patients aged 18 years and older with a PVAD.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-05
Workflow role
Measurement or quantification
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-05
Required input
Transthoracic echocardiography clips from adult patients with a PVAD.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-05
Output and human action
Aortic-annulus and PVAD-inlet landmark positions, mean distance between them, and acceptable/non-acceptable clip classification based on visibility of both landmarks.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-05
Limitations
A user can review or hide the measurement, annotate, manually measure, and retain raw data; the described PCCP permits specified future changes but does not establish that they are currently deployed.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-05

Regulatory identity

FDA record and catalog context

The FDA listing establishes the regulatory identity. It does not by itself establish local workflow fit, pricing, security, or performance in your environment.

FDA submission
K252235
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31
Modality
Ultrasound
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-05
Anatomy
Heart/Cardiovascular
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-05
Clearance type
510(k)
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31
Decision date
2025-12-18
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31
FDA status
FDA-cleared
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31

Implementation

Questions for IT, informatics, and operations

Use these fields to structure a vendor demo, security review, and implementation estimate.

Integration
Standards-based DICOM/PACS integration was identified in the FDA submission materials; compatibility with a specific PACS, RIS, EHR, or orchestrator requires confirmation.
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-13

Normalized from the prior exact-submission review. Confirm interface versions and local compatibility during technical evaluation.

Deployment and data flow
Vendor documentation pending
  • Vendor confirmation
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-05

Hosting/deployment model was not established.

Security and privacy
Vendor documentation pending
  • Vendor confirmation
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-06

No dated, scoped security documentation was reviewed.

Training and support
Vendor documentation pending
  • Vendor confirmation
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-06

Current training/support commitments were not established.

Monitoring and change control
Vendor documentation pending
  • Vendor confirmation
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-13

Local acceptance testing, production monitoring, drift review, update control, and incident escalation require a current vendor and site-specific governance plan.

Current family workflow context

UltraSight describes PVAD IQ automated distance measurement within its cardiac critical-care offering.

product family ยท checked 2026-09-05

The broader real-time guidance offering is not assumed to be a standalone K252235 capability.

Evidence

Performance evidence

Metrics are shown only when they are tied to a source, endpoint, population, and tested product version. Candidate literature without exact product and version linkage is not shown as product evidence.

Evidence summary
Standalone testing used 963 ultrasound clips from 186 patients at geographically distinct sites, with a U.S. board-certified cardiac sonographer reference standard.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-05
Reported sensitivity
Not established in reviewed sources
  • Reviewed sources checked
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-05

Landmark AUC is not a sensitivity claim.

Reported specificity
Not established in reviewed sources
  • Reviewed sources checked
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-05

No clinical specificity endpoint was established.

Mean absolute error

0.42 cm

  • EndpointMean distance between aortic annulus and PVAD inlet
  • Population963 TTE clips from 186 adult PVAD patients
  • Tested versionPVAD IQ submitted in K252235; build not stated

Clip acceptability Cohen kappa

0.71 coefficient

  • EndpointAcceptable versus non-acceptable clip classification
  • Population963 TTE clips from 186 adult PVAD patients
  • Tested versionPVAD IQ submitted in K252235; build not stated

PVAD IQ K252235 standalone performance study

  • DesignStandalone performance study
  • Population963 clips from 186 adult patients with a PVAD at geographically distinct sites
  • Scopeexact submission
  • Tested versionPVAD IQ submitted in K252235; build not stated
  • Samplen=963
  • IndependenceIndependence not established

K252235

Reference annotations were made by a U.S. board-certified cardiac sonographer.

Costs and setup

Budget and ongoing governance

These are common procurement questions; unknown values remain visible until a source supports them.

Pricing and total cost
Vendor documentation pending
  • Vendor confirmation
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-06

No scoped public price or procurement award was reviewed.

Reimbursement and coding
Research pending
  • Needs research
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-06

No applicable payer policy was reviewed.

Safety and lifecycle

Postmarket record

Recall and adverse-event records are shown only after product matching. Adverse-event reports do not establish incidence or causality.

Postmarket safety review
Not established in reviewed sources
  • Reviewed sources checked
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-04

No native submission-identifier match was found in the checked openFDA radiology recall snapshot. Product-name, manufacturer, and adverse-event searches remain necessary; this does not establish that no recall or safety report exists.

Buyer worksheet

Open questions to take to the vendor

Open evaluation checklist

Research record

What has been checked

This audit distinguishes completed source review from fields that have not yet been researched.

Human reviewedStatus
2026-09-05Last searched
24Fields reviewed
11Source classes checked
0Screened PubMed leads
0Screened trial leads
0Unreviewed FDA recall leads

No stored PubMed or ClinicalTrials candidates. Native-submission recall candidate snapshot was zero. The current discovery snapshot contains 0 PubMed and 0 ClinicalTrials.gov candidate records; its dated, count-matched human screening remains current. Unlinked candidates remain quarantined. Native FDA recall identifiers produced 0 postmarket candidate records; 0 have been reviewed (0 published, 0 rejected) and 0 remain unreviewed.

Candidate leads were screened against the exact product and tested version. Unlinked records remain quarantined.

Source classes: fda ai list, fda decision summary, acr ai central product, fda decision material, vendor product page, literature index, trial registry, fda device recall, pubmed, clinical trials, openfda device recall

Sources & history

How this profile was documented

Open the ledger for source dates, scope, and research-record updates.

View source ledger and history

Source ledger

  1. FDA 510(k) K252235: PVAD IQ

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Published 2025-12-18 - Accessed 2026-09-05

    Scope: identity, clinicalUse, modality, anatomy, input, output, limitations, evidenceSummary, evidenceMetrics

  2. Artificial Intelligence-Enabled Medical Devices

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Accessed 2026-08-31

    Scope: regulatoryIdentity, modalityContext

  3. PVAD IQ Software model card (K252235)

    American College of Radiology - Published 2026-08-17 - Accessed 2026-09-01

    Scope: intendedUsers, careSetting, output, evidenceSummary, anatomy, evidenceStudies

  4. PubMed biomedical literature index

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - Accessed 2026-09-01

    Scope: evidenceDiscovery

  5. ClinicalTrials.gov study registry

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - Accessed 2026-09-01

    Scope: evidenceDiscovery, studyStatus

  6. openFDA Device Recall API

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Accessed 2026-09-02

    Scope: recallDiscovery, nativeSubmissionMatching

  7. Cardiac Critical Care

    UltraSight - Accessed 2026-09-05

    Scope: productFamilyWorkflow, implementationCapabilities

Research history

  1. K252235 FDA decision

    Regulatory record

    510(k)

  2. Source-review record updated

    Research record

    human reviewed

Alternatives

Related tools to compare