FDA-cleared profile

Bladder AI (AIBV01)

Exo Inc

Aid quantification of bladder volume from ultrasound images in patients aged two years or older.

Evidence status: each field states its source quality, applicability, and review date. Research pending, information not established, and vendor documentation pending remain distinct outcomes.

Clinical details

What this tool is for

Start with the authorized purpose, then verify how it fits your service line and reading workflow.

Exact purpose
Aid quantification of bladder volume from ultrasound images in patients aged two years or older.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09
Intended users
Trained healthcare providers and qualified users.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09
Care setting and population
Bladder-ultrasound clinical workflow for patients aged two years or older; the FDA packet does not specify a facility type.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09
Workflow role
Imported-image post-processing with image viewing, manual or semi-automatic landmark placement, bladder-volume quantification, and examination-report generation.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09
Required input
DICOM single-frame and multi-frame bladder ultrasound images from cart-based or portable ultrasound devices; the FDA validation covered bladder volumes from 11 to 645 mL and patient ages from 2 to 95 years.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09
Output and human action
Bladder dimensions and volume measurements, including dual-view volume calculated from transverse and sagittal views and single-view volume, with report creation.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09
Limitations
The FDA indication is limited to bladder-volume quantification in patients aged two years or older. Validation used 122 subjects, ultrasound frequencies from 1.3 to 9 MHz, and volumes of 11-645 mL; those study bounds should not be treated as an unrestricted performance claim.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09

Regulatory identity

FDA record and catalog context

The FDA listing establishes the regulatory identity. It does not by itself establish local workflow fit, pricing, security, or performance in your environment.

FDA submission
K230497
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31
Modality
Ultrasound
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09
Anatomy
Urinary bladder
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09
Clearance type
510(k)
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31
Decision date
2023-06-22
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31
FDA status
FDA-cleared
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31

Implementation

Questions for IT, informatics, and operations

Use these fields to structure a vendor demo, security review, and implementation estimate.

Integration
The FDA packet describes imported DICOM images and a web-browser operating environment, including Google Chrome, for the standalone software; it does not establish PACS/RIS/EHR integration, current interface versions, or deployment configuration.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09
Deployment and data flow
On-premise
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-13

Deployment category preserved from the prior exact-submission review; hosting region, data flow, and current commercial configuration still require vendor confirmation.

Security and privacy
Vendor documentation pending
  • Vendor confirmation
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09

Exact-release security controls, data retention, hosting boundaries, and scoped assurance documentation require vendor confirmation.

Training and support
Vendor documentation pending
  • Vendor confirmation
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09

Current training prerequisites, competency checks, and support commitments for the exact configuration require vendor confirmation.

Monitoring and change control
Vendor documentation pending
  • Vendor confirmation
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09

Current drift, quality, uptime, alert, escalation, and incident-response commitments for the exact configuration require vendor confirmation.

Input or output interoperability

DICOM is explicitly referenced in the described input, output, or workflow.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-01

The model card does not establish every supported DICOM object, transfer method, or local interface.

Supported acquisition environment

Scanner manufacturers: All

exact submission · checked 2026-09-01

Confirm currently supported software versions, protocols, and site-specific acquisition configurations.

ACR exact-submission catalog context

ACR AI Central provides an exact-submission model card for Bladder AI (AIBV01); FDA labeling remains controlling for clinical use, limitations, and performance.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-09

Evidence

Performance evidence

Metrics are shown only when they are tied to a source, endpoint, population, and tested product version. Candidate literature without exact product and version linkage is not shown as product evidence.

Evidence summary
Clinical performance testing used 122 subjects with cart-based and portable ultrasound images and a test set separated from training and validation data. Reference bladder volume was the average measurement of three expert clinicians. Dual-view volume mean difference was 2 mL with limits of agreement -42 to 46 mL and ICC 0.98; single-view volume mean difference was 3 mL with limits of agreement -49 to 55 mL and ICC 0.97. These are measurement-error and reliability endpoints, not sensitivity, specificity, or AUC.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09
Reported sensitivity
Research pending
  • Needs research
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31

This field has not been curated yet.

Reported specificity
Research pending
  • Needs research
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31

This field has not been curated yet.

No contextualized exact-version metric has completed evidence review. Regulatory-document values, when available, are shown above with their limitations.

Bladder AI (AIBV01) regulatory performance study summary

  • DesignStand-Alone Performance
  • PopulationAdult and Pediatric
  • Scopeexact submission
  • Tested versionExact product version not reported; regulatory study summarized for FDA submission K230497
  • Samplen=122
  • IndependenceIndependence not established

K230497

ACR AI Central summarizes the regulatory study; consult the exact FDA materials before comparative use.

Costs and setup

Budget and ongoing governance

These are common procurement questions; unknown values remain visible until a source supports them.

Pricing and total cost
Vendor documentation pending
  • Vendor confirmation
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09

No public price or quote for the exact K230497 configuration was established in this review.

Reimbursement and coding
Not established in reviewed sources
  • Reviewed sources checked
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09

No exact-product payer policy, coding instruction, or payment determination was established; eligibility must be evaluated by payer, site of service, and use case.

Safety and lifecycle

Postmarket record

Recall and adverse-event records are shown only after product matching. Adverse-event reports do not establish incidence or causality.

Postmarket safety review
The exact-identifier FDA recall query returned no native recall record for K230497. This limited result does not establish absence of recalls or other safety information and does not cover later versions, family records, MAUDE reports, corrections, or field notices.
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09

Buyer worksheet

Open questions to take to the vendor

Open evaluation checklist

Research record

What has been checked

This audit distinguishes completed source review from fields that have not yet been researched.

Exact FDA record reviewedStatus
2026-09-09Last searched
23Fields reviewed
9Source classes checked
0Awaiting review PubMed leads
0Awaiting review trial leads
0Unreviewed FDA recall leads

Exact-submission ACR model-card fields were normalized under the current provenance rules; vendor and independent-study confirmation remain distinct. Exact FDA scope controls clinical claims. ACR provides bounded exact-submission catalog context. Candidate literature metadata remains a discovery queue until full-text identity, endpoint, population, and version review is completed. Automated exact-name discovery found 0 PubMed and 0 ClinicalTrials.gov candidate records. Candidates require human product and version matching; zero candidates is not evidence that no studies exist. Native FDA recall identifiers produced 0 postmarket candidate records; 0 have been reviewed (0 published, 0 rejected) and 0 remain unreviewed.

Candidate leads remain unpublished until a human confirms the exact product and tested version.

Source classes: fda ai list, fda decision summary, acr ai central product, fda device recall, literature index, trial registry, pubmed, clinical trials, openfda device recall

Sources & history

How this profile was documented

Open the ledger for source dates, scope, and research-record updates.

View source ledger and history

Source ledger

  1. FDA K230497: Bladder AI (AIBV01)

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Published 2023-06-22 - Accessed 2026-09-09

    Scope: identity, clinicalUse, modality, anatomy, workflow, evidence, implementation

  2. Artificial Intelligence-Enabled Medical Devices

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Accessed 2026-08-31

    Scope: regulatoryIdentity, modalityContext

  3. Bladder AI (AIBV01) model card (K230497)

    American College of Radiology - Published 2026-08-17 - Accessed 2026-09-01

    Scope: intendedUsers, careSetting, output, limitations, evidenceSummary, integration, anatomy, evidenceStudies, implementationCapabilities

  4. PubMed biomedical literature index

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - Accessed 2026-09-01

    Scope: evidenceDiscovery

  5. ClinicalTrials.gov study registry

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - Accessed 2026-09-01

    Scope: evidenceDiscovery, studyStatus

  6. openFDA Device Recall API

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Accessed 2026-09-02

    Scope: recallDiscovery, nativeSubmissionMatching

  7. openFDA exact recall query for K230497

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Accessed 2026-09-09

    Scope: postmarketSafety

Research history

  1. K230497 FDA decision

    Regulatory record

    510(k)

  2. Source-review record updated

    Research record

    fda record reviewed

Alternatives

Related tools to compare

FDA-cleared K252237

EdgeFlow UW20

Edgecare, Inc.

EdgeFlow UW20 is a wearable ultrasound system for noninvasive periodic bladder-volume measurement in adults with BMI no greater than 30.

Modality
Ultrasound
Anatomy
Urinary bladder
Decision
2026-04-17
FDA-cleared K231677

EdgeFlow UH10

Edgecare Inc.

EdgeFlow UH10 is an ultrasound device intended to measure urine volume in the bladder noninvasively in professional healthcare facilities such as hospitals and clinics by...

Modality
Ultrasound
Anatomy
Urinary bladder
Decision
2024-03-06